Last updated on 09 Apr 2024

Authority Board

The Authority – the HTA’s non-executive board – is made up of a Chair and 11 Members who are appointed by the Secretary of State for Health, with the exception of one Member appointed by the Welsh Minister and one by the Minister in Northern Ireland.

Its primary role is to ensure that the HTA’s statutory responsibilities are met. It achieves this by setting the HTA’s strategic direction and providing both support and challenge to an Executive which is responsible for the discharge of these responsibilities on a day-to-day basis. The Authority holds four accountability meetings per year, one of which is in public.

These provide the opportunity to assess a range of management information and more detailed reports on progress against elements of the strategic plan. They also allow the Authority to hold the Executive to account for the HTA’s performance. The Authority is supported in its work by two standing Committees, the Audit and Risk Assurance Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

In addition, ad hoc groups are created where a significant input is required from Authority Members on major development or change issues.

HTA Board Members register of interests

Please note, HTA meeting papers are not policy documents. Draft policies may be subject to revision following the Authority meeting. 

Older Authority papers

For HTA Authority papers from before 2018, please see our archived website.