Human Tissue Authority

The regulator for human tissue and organs

HTA announces four new Authority Members

Issue date: 
14 October 2014

Hossam Abdalla, Amanda Gibbon; Professor Andy Hall and Professor Anthony Warrens have been appointed for three year terms starting on 20 October 2014.

The HTA Authority consists of a Chair, Sharmila Nebhrajani, and 11 Members who have been appointed by the Secretary of State for Health. The Authority is accountable to the Department of Health and Parliament for the activities and performance of the HTA. 

Sharmila Nebhrajani, Chair of the HTA, welcomed the new appointments: “The HTA’s Authority makes a crucial contribution to the work of the HTA. They help to shape the HTA’s strategy and policies and hold the Executive to account. The Authority makes decisions that are important to the sectors we regulate and to the public. I am delighted to have Members joining us from diverse backgrounds, bringing with them their experience of research, patient care, donation and transplantation

This follows the end of the terms of HTA Authority Members, Jodi Berg and Pamela Goldberg, who will step down on 19 October.

Sharmila Nebhrajani added: “I also want to pay tribute to Jodi and Pamela who are stepping down. They have supported the HTA through a challenging period and I want to thank them for their hard work and excellent service.”

Biographies for each of the new Authority Members can be found below:

Press office contacts


News type: