Human Tissue Authority

The regulator for human tissue and organs

Brain banks

Please see below for a number of frequently asked questions from a specific category. Simply select one of the questions of interest, the answer will then appear below. For the complete list of categories please visit the main FAQs page.

Wolfson Neuroscience Laboratories
Imperial College Faculty of Medicine
Hammersmith Hospital Campus
Burlington Danes Building
160 Du Cane Road
London W12 0NN

Contact: Dr George Gveric
T 020 7594 9732
F 020 7594 9733
E pdbank@imperial.ac.uk

Wolfson Neuroscience Laboratories
Imperial College Faculty of Medicine
Hammersmith Hospital Campus
Burlington Danes Building
160 Du Cane Road
London W12 0NN

Contact: Dr George Gveric
T 020 7594 9734
F 020 7594 9735
E ukmstissuebank@imperial.ac.uk

Neuropathology Dept
Level 1, West Wing
John Radcliffe Hospital
Headley Way, Headington
Oxford OX3 9DU

Contact: Dr Olaf Ansorge
T 01865 234904 / 01865 234403 (Includes out-of-hours message service)
F 01865 231157
E olaf.ansorge@ndcn.ox.ac.uk

University of Bristol
Level 1, Learning & Research
Southmead Hospital
Bristol, BS10 5NB

Contact: Laura Palmer
T 0117 414 7821
E laura.e.palmer@bristol.ac.uk

UCL Institute of Neurology
Institute of Neurology
1 Wakefield Street
London WC1N 3BG

Contact: Lynn Haddon
T 020 7837 8370
F 020 7278 4993
E l.haddon@ucl.ac.uk

Regional Neuropatholgy Service
The Royal Victoria Hospital
Grosvenor Road
Belfast BT12 6BA

Contact: Dr Brian Herron
T 028 9063 2319
E brian.herron@belfasttrust.hscni.net

Newcastle Brain Tissue Resource
Institute for Ageing and Health
Newcastle University
Campus for Ageing and Vitality
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE4 5PL

Contact: Debbie Lett
T: 0191 208 1231
E nbtr@ncl.ac.uk

Cerebral Function Unit
Greater Manchester Neuroscience Centre
Hope Hospital
Stott Lane
Salford
M6 8HD

Contact: Stephen Chew-Graham
T 0161 789 7373 (ext 2561)
E brainbank@manchester.ac.uk

Institute of Psychiatry
Box PO65
King's College London
De Crespigny Park
London SE5 8AF

Contact: Dr Claire Troakes
T 020 7848 0290 (Office hours)
F 020 7848 0275
E brain.bank@kcl.ac.uk
W https://www.kcl.ac.uk/ioppn/depts/bcn/Our-research/Neurodegeneration/brain-bank.aspx

Institute of Psychological Medicine & Clinical Neuroscience
Hadyn Ellis Building
Maindy Road
Cathays
Cardiff
CF24 4HQ

Contact: Dr Rebecca Sims
T 0292 068 8042
E ADResearch@cardiff.ac.uk

The Department of Neuropathology coordinates brain donation in Wales. If you would like to make a brain donation for medical research please use the contact details above.

Cambridge Brain Bank
Department Histopathology
Level 5 Box 235
Addenbrooke's Hospital
Hills Road
Cambridge CB2 0QQ

Contact: Beverley Haynes / Jenny Wilson
T 01223 217336
E brbank@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

Brains for Dementia Research Coordinating Centre Office
Ground Floor, Edwardson Building
Newcastle University
Institute of Neuroscience
Campus for Ageing and Vitality
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
NE4 5PL

Contact: Nicky Barnett - BDR Senior Manager
T 0191 208 2109
BDR.Coordinatingcentre@ncl.ac.uk
www.brainsfordementiaresearch.org.uk