The Human Tissue Authority website uses cookies to help improve the content and structure of the site.
For more information about how the Human Tissue Authority uses cookies and how to disable them please read our Privacy Policy

Authority members

The HTA Board consists of a Chair and 10 Authority members who have been appointed by the Secretary of State for Health.

The professional Members of our Board come from medical and scientific backgrounds linked to our work, and the lay Members bring a wide range of business, commercial and public sector experience.

The work of the Board is varied and includes:

  • Setting the strategic direction of the HTA;
  • Monitoring progress against strategic objectives;
  • Making decisions on policy issues of strategic importance;
  • Challenging, scrutinising and monitoring the performance of the Senior Management Team;
  • Approving and monitoring the communications strategy;
  • Ensuring that the views of stakeholders are properly accounted for in decision making;
  • Ensuring that resources are adequate to deliver the strategy and are used efficiently and effectively;
  • Overseeing the remuneration arrangements for the Senior Management Team and staff;
  • Participating in Audit Committee, Remuneration Committee and Members’ groups;
  • Acting as a panel Member for certain decisions on living organ donation

Member biographies

The HTA is currently recruiting two additional Authority Members. If you wish to speak to any of members of the Authority please contact the HTA press office.


Sharmila Nebhrajani  

Ms Sharmila Nebhrajani OBE

Sharmila became Chair of the Human Tissue Authority on 1 April, 2014 after a varied career in business, the media and science. Most recently she has been Chief Executive of the Association of Medical Research Charities – the national membership organisation of leading medical and health research charities. Before that she had 12 years as chief operating officer of BBC Future Media and Technology, the division that launched and ran and the iPlayer.  Sharmila is also a board member for the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, and the Pension Protection Fund as well as serving on the Audit and the Ethics Committees of the Institute for Cancer Research and the General Council of the University of Sussex. From 1 May 2014 she will also join the board of the BMJ.

jodi berg  

Ms Jodi Berg

Jodi Berg is currently the Independent Complaints Reviewer for public bodies including three regulatory authorities: the Audit Commission, the Charity Commission and the Tenant Services Authority. She is a member of the Administrative Justice and Tribunals Council, and Chair of the Postal Redress Service Council. Between 2001 and 2007, she was Independent Case Examiner for the Department for Work and Pensions. She is a member of the British and Irish Ombudsman Association.

mr brian coulter  

Mr Brian Coulter

Brian Coulter's working life has encompassed health and social services, social housing and criminal justice. He has served as a specialist ombudsman for Northern Ireland prisons and as Chief Executive of a not-for-profit social housing and social care provider organisation. He was honored in the 2003 New Years Honours for services to social housing. For 10 years, Brian championed patient and public involvement in the health and social services as Chairman of the Eastern Health and Social Services Council. He is a member of the General Optical Council. He has chaired a ministerial review of community care, taken part in an independent review of aspects of endoscopy services and latterly, held responsibility for investigating deaths in custody.

Susan Dilly  

Professor Susan Dilly

Susan Dilly is a Consultant Histopathologist at Barts and the London NHS Trust. Susan has also been a Clinical Professor and Director of the Institute of Health Sciences Education, Barts and the London Medical School – part of Queen Mary, University of London – since 2006. She is an external examiner for Fellowship of the Royal College of Pathologists.


Rosie Glazebrook

Rosie chairs a Research Ethics Committee, is a Board Member of Public Health England, and a member of a health research funding board. She represents the public at the Food Standards Agency on the Consumer Advisory Panel and Microbiological Safety of Food Committee and is an independent panellist for public appointments and a Trustee of Book Aid International. During 2013, Rosie was an External Reviewer for the Clwyd-Hart Review on NHS Complaints. Previously, she worked with NHS London to help launch and develop the award-winning site, myhealthlondon, and was a Non-Executive Director of a London Primary Care Trust. She has held senior commercial positions at Dr Foster, News International, Macmillan Press and Oxford University Press.

Pamela J Goldberg  

Ms Pamela J Goldberg

Pamela Goldberg was Chief Executive of Breast Cancer Campaign, a medical research charity supporting research into breast cancer across the UK and Ireland until 2011. Pamela is a member of the General Advisory Committee on Science and Joint Chair of the Consumer Advisory Panel for the Food Standards Agency. She is a member of the Independent Review Panel for Borderline Products and Independent Review Panel for Advertising of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency. She is a trustee of Moorfields Eye Charity, a Fellow of the RSA and Master of the Worshipful Company of Needlemakers.

Bill Horne  

Mr Bill Horne

A former police officer, Bill Horne represented the Association of Chief Police Officers on several national bodies. Following that career he has held a number of public service roles. He is currently a non-legal member of the Employment Tribunals for the Wales region and a Non-Executive Director of the Sustainable Futures Corporate Governance Board within the Welsh Government.

Suzanne McCarthy  

Suzanne McCarthy

Suzanne McCarthy is currently the Immigration Services Commissioner. She is also a member of the General Medical Council, the Public Guardian Board and the Board of Trustees of the University of London. She was Chief Executive of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority between 1996 and 2000.


Professor Gurch Randhawa

Gurch Randhawa has been a member of the UK Donation Ethics Committee since January 2010. Gurch is the current Professor of Diversity in Public Health and the Director of the Institute for Health Research at the University of Bedfordshire. He is also the Chair of NHS Luton. He has been a member of the UK Donation Ethics Committee since January 2010, and he was a non-executive director at UK Transplant.

catharine seddon  

Ms Catherine Seddon

After many years as a film documentary producer for BBC TV and then as an independent producer for Channel 4, Catharine began working for the judiciary in 2002. She now sits on Social Security and Employment tribunals; she is a magistrate in the City of Westminster and a member of the Greater London Family Panel. Since joining the HTA, she has also become a member of the Appeals committee for the HFEA. Over the last ten years, she has been heavily involved with special needs children including teaching and presenting for the Cued Speech Association UK, a national organisation working with deaf children. She is also a trustee of The London Centre for Children with Cerebral Palsy.